Wednesday, October 22, 2008

Most people don't take snapshots of the little things. But these are the things that make up the true picture of our lives.


Thought there will never be a chance for even just one post this month. Life only becomes busier for me by the day and should I say 'tougher'?

So many things happened the past weeks. In spite my rather boring lifestyle, some unusual things still happen. Like the eerie moments while at work for one. I will just save this story for the next post, though. Got only very short time to work on this one. Maybe I should just give a brief summary of how things went with me since my last blog post.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Of course, I was overwhelmed with happiness when the San Beda Red Lions won the championship. Can't even remember the date. It's somewhere around here. Wrote everything down on a notebook. Anyway, this is all that I need to say...they're again the champion. JRU is really no match. Everything went fair and that's the end of my month-long Sports series.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Twas Mom's birthday first day of the month. The president declared it as holiday for the celebration of the end of Ramadan. That same day, twas raining cats and dogs. Dunno how she celebrated it. What I can remember... she prepared some food and that's it.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Before October, we went out with relatives to celebrate Nanay (lola) and Mamay's (lolo) birthday. If I remember it correctly, twas 27th of September. We went to Dampa (which, I used to think was a very nice place...). Think there was just some 15 of us. 'Food was dismaying' is all I can say. Mom had to spend like PhP8K and only one person was satisfied. We should've just went to Fish & Co. in stead. *sigh* Well, I just have to think that at least we were able to celebrate our grannies' days together for the first time.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Before end of September, I screwed up. Someone was hurt and I am really sorry that I have to be that stupid. I learned a lot from that situation. Please know how sorry I am. There are reasons ... but no matter how valid, I am sincerely sorry. There is no excuse for this.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


The first weeks of October had been spooky for me. Y'all should wait for my next post (and hope that it won't take another couple'o weeks) as I will talk about my personal ghost stories. *wink*


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


A few sad things also happened... like my younger sis was held up. Twas only last month that her phone was snatched in Ortigas by a street child (a boy). Pat had to buy her a new one and twas just a week old when a guy approached her as she waits for transport on her way to her review school around 9 in the morning. Not too early, right? But, the style was... the guy introduced himself as a policeman and flashed an ID. My sis wasn't able to scrutinize it as she was already frightened. The man said, he need to search her stuffs as there was a complaint about a lost stash of cash and a mobile phone. Worse, she was asked to go to a corner where no one can see them. She showed her bag and it's over. What she didn't know, the guy was able to snatch her phone without her being conscious of it. For however it was done! Only after he's gone that she figured everything. *sigh*

Just yesterday, Totsie, Hippo's younger bro experienced the same modus. He just dropped off MRT - Boni Station when a guy came to him. Introduced himself as a cop and told the young Hippo there was a complaint so it's necessary that his stuffs be searched. Totsie was carrying a pretty huge bag with mostly food items inside. The guy asked if he's carrying money and requested Young Hippo to flash it. The latter did (for whatever reason). But, he was able to safely return it inside the bag. After the fake cop was gone, Young Hippo found out the money was also gone. tsk tsk.


Lessons:

1. Always be alert.

Look around for suspicious looking characters. Yes, SLCs are not only seen on widescreens. They are everywhere. So, don't apply the saying...'don't judge a book by its cover' when you're in public places. Hmmm... but, all am trying to say is, be alert and be street smart. I remember my sis described the guy being decent looking.

2. Never trust anyone.

Yes. Even if they tell you they are NBI. Anyone can just conveniently say "I am this and that"... Trust not even authorities.

3. When you didn't do anything wrong, don't be shaken and keep your cool.

Usually, they use intimidation to perform their dirty work. And this is the reason why that guy introduced himself as a policeman. So, before anything else, trust yourself that you're not guilty of anything. Remember that there should always be a search warrant before authorities can search your possessions.

4. Always keep in mind that policemen always speak LOUDLY and they don't do investigation alone & without the complainant.

Yes. They are not going to speak softly when they have to perform investigation on anyone. They won't care if one has to be humiliated in front of a crowd of bystanders. Keep this in mind. So if someone comes to you whispering... do every possible move to stay away.

5. Always stay with the crowd.

You can at least feel safe with them.

6. Have a handy teargas with you all the time.

This way, you can escape from sitches this. Like, you won't be scared to raise your voice should you need to get the public's attention.

7. Keep in mind that a search warrant is always necessary if there's a complaint against anyone.

If a modus like this happens to you, tell them that you will have to call your lawyer first. I wonder what will that &*#%$@ do. Refuse to do anything they ask you to. Even real guilty suspects ask for their lawyers.

8. If you have to carry big sums of money ... maybe for tuition or for whatever ... keep it on a real safe place where it's hard to grab from.

...like in your shoes or undies, maybe. It's already enrolment in most schools plus Christmas season is fast approaching so all us should be alert. So many goons are lurking around waiting for innocent victims.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


18th was Pat's wedding day. Twas a good one. The Church was nice and didn't make me dizzy at all. Reception was ok but I didn't like the food. Maybe am naturally too choosy. Dunno.

Met some relatives I never met before. Only a few from Dad's side and a significant number from Mom's. For the first time, I met Sol. She's Uncle Tito's daughter. Mom said we're like twins as we resemble each other... but, I frankly don't see any resemblance. Mom mentioned we even shared the same allergies haha. It feels good knowing I am not alone. hehe Now, I plan to sit and have a talk with her so I can learn how to survive this miserable life I have (being sickly and having so many allergies to almost everything).

There's this cute lil boy Jason referred to as the person of Chicken Little. fwahaha... but, he's indeed very cute and adorable.

I and Jen screwed up a lil hihi... I can only laugh at myself now. And I am guessing Jen feels the same way. She had to do the reading ... it's for the mass... and as soon as she was in front of the pulpit, she started sniffing like there's no tomorrow. So ridiculous. Imagine someone looking so elegant doing that! "Childish indeed" like what Aunt Rosie said.

How did I screw up? Well, I only stepped on Pat's veil! *blushes* It was all over my way to her. Twas My and Jason's turn to put the cord, but the veil was on my way and there was nowhere I can pass through. In my head, I was to ask Jen to pick the thing up for me (since she's Pat's maid LOL)... but I didn't want to make a scene or something. I still did, anyway! Now, the poor veil has a hole the size of my heel. hihi ... Sorry Pat.

I was also asked to do a speech. Twas supposed to be wishes and stuffs, but ended up a stand-up comedy thingie. Only because I was already teary-eyed and I didn't want to start with a tear-jerker message. The entire time I was holding the mic I was chuckling and kidding around. Oh well... but, looking back, I regret I wasn't able to tell the both of them what I've been meaning to tell.

All the while I thought everything was nothing to me until I saw that look on Pat's face at the Church while walking along the aisle. She was filled with joy and fulfillment. The guy was no one to us. We didn't like him for what we thought he was. Not that we already proved he's not what we judged him to be, but, you know the feeling when you can just be happy for someone only for the simple reason he/she's happy? That's what I felt. Although, Pat and I have so many differences, I love her that much that I can be happy where she's happy without questions. And at that very moment, I started embracing the idea that F is now part of the family. I love what she loves because I love her.


Early that morning just before the ceremony... Orlan went to my place to do my hair and make up. After a long while. In fact, twas a few years ago since we last saw each other in an event. We talked about mundane stuffs. Am glad that so many wonderful things happened that day.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


What's usual about me happened after Pat's big day -- got sick. Was in bed the entire day (since afternoon until next day) except I had to attend fellowship afternoon of Sunday so... I had to be fine. Still so weak til now. Oh well...


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Today's Daddy Hippo's birthday. Happy happy!!!!! There won't be any big celebration since the Twin Hippos are here plus he still feels bad about that modus yesterday. But, Mommy Hippo said they will be visiting here either Thursday or Friday. Hope by then, I can already have that long awaited massage (with them)!


Toodle-oo for now.








Sunday, September 28, 2008

First rule of defense: always watch your rear.


The JRU Heavy Bombers pulled if off for a sudden death match after winning game 2 of the 84th NCAA Men's Senior Division finals against the 2-time champ San Beda Red Lions last Friday, 62-60.

Should we call it a fair game? This is not for my being a Red Lions fanatic. I do acknowledge there have been too many mistakes and wrong decisions on their end (a lot would blame it on poor Pong Escobal). Not to mention, the Heavy Bombers gave a really good defense and outstanding offense. But, it's very evident how the referees took charge in the game 2 of NCAA season 84 finals by being inconsistent with their calls (which placed Sam Ekwe and Jay-R Taganas out of the court in the crucial 4th qtr) . The JRU Heavy Bombers tried to give a good defense but it turned out too physical. And this is really what happened. If truth will only be told.

Too physical I said because NJei of JRU was too clingy and so were most of the Bombers but too many instances of fouls were not called in favor of the Lions. While a number of lame fouls were called in favor of JRU since the start of the game. Yeah, it's JRU's strategy and well, it's part of the game. So, I can only ask, should this be considered a clean win for the Bombers? Or rather a win out of frustration to stretch their season?

No doubt, they are good. I am not questioning it. They have exceptional defense and consistent key players like Cagoco, Sena, Nocom (MVP in this game), Bulangis and Wilson. They're truly commendable. Nonetheless, their win was aided by court authorities. Yes, they'd successfully shut down the offense and held down most of the Lions' scorers. They're pesky and aggressive and not to mention, too touchy. They're all over the Red Lions' bodies, for crying out loud! So, although, Escobal made palpable errors, come on! Who can survive a game like this when it appeared more like a boxing bout for him?!

A defense play such as the Heavy Bombers' can really test an opponents' composure and focus NOT because of their knack, but because they are able to get away with their strong nudges. No fouls will be called no matter how battered the opponent already is. In addition, how lucky fouls are called in their favor with just the slightest touch from the Lions. The foul call which put Ekwe on the bench was too lame. His hands were raised and he was still. Can't blame Frankie Lim for that pointless technical, although, he fired it a lil too late. It should've came earlier in the game before the Lions became psychologically affected.

In my opinion, it's not a question of their (the Lions) composure or maturity. That's too much to ask. There's nothing tougher than frustration caused by an outer force. Truth is, it's not the defense of the Bombers that destroyed their focus. It's the thought that winning is not on their hands but on the hands of another who has the power to manipulate who SHOULD win.


Quarterscores: 19-14; 30-28; 45-44; 62-60.

Jose Rizal (62) -- Nocom 16, Wilson 13, Sena 11, Bulangis 7, Cagoco 4, Hayes 4, Njei 4, Pradas 3, Lopez 0, Kabigting 0.

San Beda (60) -- Escobal 16, Ekwe 15, Menor 9, Taganas 5, Hermida 4, Marcelo 4, Tirona 3, Gamalinda 2, Pascual 2.




✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐

A Love with a promise of permanence.

"...if any hear MY voice and open the door,  I will come into their house and eat with them,  and they will eat with ME." ...

✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐