Saturday, September 20, 2008

Do you ever feel that you're observing the world you live in instead of participating in it?


I was totally devastated after the Mapua Cardinals (4th seed) defeated the San Beda Red Lions (1st seed) yesterday during NCAA's Semis. This is the 2ndth time the Cardinals aced the Red Lions this season being the only team to beat the latter twice. Sad to admit, but the entire game was in favor of the Cardinals.

Was only able to watch the 2nd half (again). That time, Mapua was already leading by 11. Twas another low scoring game ended with only 53-51.

Am still so dismayed that they had to lose this one. Thought twas leading to an extension but they insisted on taking that 3pts shot in an attempt to snatch the victory (in stead of eyeing for an extension) which they failed to do.

At around 12secs in the 4th qtr, the lead was down to 3 (from the combined score of Hermida and Menor). Menor got the chance to add more points by means of freethrow. He got the first one but missed the second hoping to get the rebound, which unfortunately, didn't help as Escobal was too early on the paint. Possession was given to the Cardinals with only 7secs left, but the Lions were able to steal the ball giving them the advantage to either go for 3 or challenge the Cardinals for another 5mins. The latter was executed. Inbound by Menor (which was very questionable..."why him?") and two 3pt attempts by Escobal, which was too strong the first time and too short the 2ndth (in an attempt to get a foul). Ekwe was under the basket but was too late to erase the two points deficit as clock went zero. *sigh*

Like Hermida and the rest of the Lions, I was in shock for a few secs while watching the Cardinals rejoice. Nobody expected this. Even in the last seconds, I was hopeful they (RLs) can still pull it off. Turned out negative for the last season's champ, though.

My personal opinion... (come on! everyone's entitled to this. givvituhme!)

...aside from Ekwe's poor contribution lately, I noticed something wrong with the coaching, as well. Yes, yes, I am not a coach and what do I know?! But, for crying out loud, to put Rogemar Menor out of the court in a crucial game like this?! Tell me, is there nothing wrong?! May I mention that he was vital to their past years' wins; he was NCAA Season 83 Finals MVP; he was twice awarded as outstanding player of the week by the NCAA Press Corps last year; he can remarkably make 35pts in a single game (avg 14 ppg -- obsolete -- no current record available); he was MVP in the Jr Div twice (2003 & 2004) and so on... oh, and I almost forgot he was the highest scorer among the Lions in yesterday's game although he was stuck longer on the bench. May I question, as well, why he had to do the inbound during that crucial 7secs ball possession?

...I sound so like a fan of his, but, I believe in his talent so...

Anyway, I also question why they had to push for 3 pts? Extension could've been more practicable, especially, considering their very bad outside shooting in this game. Inside shooting was even such a struggle, so, WHY???

Sam Ekwe was kept playing in spite of the many errors he's making...he was allowed to make too many attempts and ended up with only 4. Goodness! Like, while watching the disaster, I was asking, "what's happening?!!!" My tummy felt like revolting ...I wanted to throw up. If I wanted them to win badly, how much more the players themselves?! But, Ekwe was just screwing up. He's not even helping with the rebounds.

Dunno what's happening, but I just miss how Ekwe used to contribute a lot to the team. He used to not care whether he made points or not. Just as long as he can do something like snatch the ball, box out or whatever. Lately, he has become lax. To me, it looks like he's too engrossed making jumpshot attempts no matter how many times he misses. Makes me wonder why isn't anything being done about this? Was this even an instruction from the coaching staff? He's supposed to be within the paint (boxing out) but he's been positioning himself outside where he's not really needed. *scratches head*

Their last game (when Ekwe made only 4 points and played his shortest game time) rose suspicions that he might be involved in game-fixing. There have been rumors spreading he was picked up for interrogation after a very bad performance, but this was denied by Frankie Lim (head coach) and the officials of his college (source). They even expressed their full trust in the Nigerian National (read more...). Can't remember who said this (could be the commentators as just like myself, they're also wondering why won't they [coaching staff] make him rest since he's not anymore effective...) , "they're trying to make Ekwe satisfied or happy" (not the exact wording), so he was let to play longer although he's erratic. Is this in relation to the controversy? Read more here...

*deep sigh* Well, it's really a combination of errors and unlucky day, in fact, that might have dictated the Red Lions fate yesterday. Almost half of their free throws were missed (10/18). Too many missed shots could've also saved them.

oh, well...No matter how I rant here, the result is all over the news and I should better just wait for the next game (September 22, Mon 2:30PM at the Astrodome).









Thursday, September 11, 2008

Trust me folks, this is gonna be a day you'll never forget.


Yey! After another exhilarating game yesterday, the San Beda Red Lions once again copped the victory this time against the Colegio de San Juan de Letran Knights. Twas a low-scoring game ended with 65-63 (OT). *whew*

At the last few seconds of the fourth quarter, the Knights were in the lead by two when Jazul fouled Menor and the latter swept the deficit, which led them to an extension. (Am not really certain if this was what really caused the OT and if these were really the men involved. Boy, everything happened too swiftly! But the intensity of the game is still felt up to this moment. Just correct me if there's any mistake in my story. OR better yet, add to it.)

Have no idea how things went during the first half. I was actually busy working on something so I was trying to dismiss the idea of postponing what I was doing ONLY to watch this game. I did leave my work and sat comfortably in front of Changhong ...and well, it's all worth it.

Around less than 7 minutes during the 3rd quarter, Letran was ahead by 13(?). Who would think the Lions could still win?! Menor and Escobal were NOT performing as expected and so is almost everybody. Too many free throws were given away, which could've aided them in this close fight game. Ekwe's game was just as bad. In fact, his most unfavorable for this season with only 4 pts and 3 rbds in 19 mins (his lowest game time).

SBC RL bench Tirona, Marcelo, Pascual (who was fouled out in the 4th qtr) and Gamalinda responded to the need and how this helped their struggle to advance. Later in the game, Menor and Hermida came back adding more thrill to the already exciting match.

Am sure everyone watching the game yesterday (both live and TV audience) was already anticipating a 2nd extension but NO... nah-uh! That's already enough. Everybody's tired. It's been a really tiring game for both teams so, Hermida had to make that last (chance) shot to cancel another OT. His last second shot, which ended the game and brought defeat to the Knights. awwww... (frown for The Ks but big happy smile for the RLs)

There's a weightier reason for the Knights to grieve. It is the possibility to get eliminated should they lose the next two knock-out games. The RLs gave them and 3 other teams (San Sebastian, Mapua and JRU) tougher work vying for the 3 remaining slots to complete the Final Four. While SBC RLs hold a twice to beat advantage. *big smile*

Have a sporty day!








✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐

A Love with a promise of permanence.

"...if any hear MY voice and open the door,  I will come into their house and eat with them,  and they will eat with ME." ...

✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐✎✐